10 Interesting Things – Week #1

Posted on July 9, 2010 by

4


10 miles

What Note Is Your Week Ending On?

Quickly, it is early in the morning and I have not yet had breakfast. I’m going to be doing these super-quick lists of interesting things that I bookmark throughout the week. Some of it will be music, some of it will be music related business. Other things might just be quirky little tidbits of Internet weirdness that I picked up along the way. I’ll try to do this everyweek and if you want to send me any suggestions on what to include… send it to sonic.idiot at gmail.com

Blogs

  • Derek SiversMy Loss: Outstanding. I get it, I really get it.
  • Wire to the EarMusic Toys Found in the Bronx: I had to post this one, c’mon I’m about 10 minutes from the Bronx (walking distance). I’ll try to get over there sometime next week.

Forums

  • Home RecordingCollaboration?: dewhitt is looking for a collaborator for a backdoor project. My experience is that backdoor projects end-up as freebies 99% of the time, right Chris? But perhaps a rapper is looking for some exposure, you never know.
  • Tape Op Message BoardRE: Violating the “Bass in the Center of Mix” rule: Meathands is questioning whether or not Andy Wallace actually knows what he’s doing. And he might have a point?

Music

  • RCRD_LBL – The Drums – Let’s Go Surfing: A hip little tune that I found this week by the Drums. I included it because of the very nostalgic way they used chamber sounding reverbs in their production.
  • Aquarium Drunkard – Grizzly Bear – Graceland: Indie rock group Grizzly Bear does Paul Simon. Wait, headline should read indie rock group does Paul Simon, better than Paul Simon.]

News

Production

  • Kim Lajoie’s BlogObsession: OK, this actually should be under music but, I already had my music picks and Kim does explain a bit about his music production ideas in this post, plus we like Kim, I think he is a true prototype of what the future of music production will be. Cheers Kim!
  • GearslutzIs it Worth it????: Illmo wants to know is it worth it to pass his entire album through a Neve desk?

Cited Works

Moore, Brent. 10 Miles to Sequoyah Caverns. Flickr. 2006

Posted in: 10 Things